Professor Richard Graeme Larkins, AO 2017-01-18T15:45:45+00:00

Board of Trustees

Professor Richard Graeme Larkins, AO

Professor Richard Graeme Larkins, AO

Professor Richard Graeme Larkins, AO, was the Vice-Chancellor and President of Monash University from 2003 until June 2009. Prior to this, he had a distinguished career in medicine, scientific research and academic management.

Before joining Monash, he was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences at the University of Melbourne from 1998 to 2003, and James Stewart Chair of Medicine at the Royal Melbourne Hospital from 1984 to 1997. His medical research and clinical work specialised in diabetes and endocrinology. In recognition of his outstanding contribution to medicine, Professor Larkins received the Eric Susman Prize for medical research in 1982, and the Sir William Upjohn Medal and a Centenary of Federation Medal in 2002. In 2002, he was also made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).

During his career, he has also served as a member of the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council from 1977 to 2000, President of the Endocrine Society of Australia from 1982 to 1984, Chairman of the Accreditation Committee of the Australian Medical Council from 1991 to 1995, Chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia from 1997 to 2000, and President of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians from 2000 to 2002. In 2007, he was appointed as Chair of Universities Australia, a position he held until May 2009. Professor Larkins is a strong believer of the need for greater public investment in university teaching and research.